Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Become a Member
Community Search
Moe Dorton Award
Share |

Our organization has attracted top Twin Cities land use professionals as members. One of these distinguished individuals was the late Maurice "Moe" Dorton. Moe served as an employee of the Metropolitan Waste Control Commission, Director of Physical Planning for the Metropolitan Council, and Executive Director of the Metropolitan Council.

He was a patient, cooperative, responsive, and gracious human being who treated everyone with the utmost respect and courtesy, regardless of the magnitude of their problem. Moe worked diligently to answer questions and solve problems in an efficient and tactful manner. He had a gentleness and thoughtfulness which gave status to anyone with whom he interacted. Moe's entire career was focused on working in and for the public.

In the tradition of Moe Dorton, The Sensible Land Use Coalition from time to time recognizes individuals who exemplify his spirit and leadership abilities in land use planning and development. Previous award winners were:

  • 1993  -  Howard Dahlgren, Dahlgren, Shardlow and Uban
  • 1994  -  Barbara Lukermann, Ph.D., Humphrey Institute
  • 1996  -  Fred Hoisington, Hoisington Koegler Group, Inc.
  • 1997  -  Robert Hoffman, Esq., Larkin Daly, Hoffman & Lindgren, Inc.
  • 1999  -  Larry Laukka, Laukka Development
  • 2000  -  Curtis Johnson, Metropolitan Council
  • 2001  -  Jim Solem, Metropolitan Council
  • 2002  -  John Shardlow, Bonestroo/Stantec
  • 2006  -  Mayor Karen Anderson, City of Minnetonka
  • 2009  -  Robert E. Engstrom, Robert Engstrom Companies
  • 2013  -  Anne Hurlburt, City of Scandia
  • 2018  -  Terry Schneider, Project Developers Inc. 

more Calendar

Wisdom Panel

Featured Members

Sensible Land Use Coalition
PO Box 284
Excelsior, MN 55331

Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal